Things to Think About

It’s interesting when you think about what inspires people to do certain things or how certain images or quotes can impact you and trigger something deep inside of you to make a change in your life.

Growing up I never felt like I belonged within my community whether it was externally or sometimes even within my own community, for example in school situations or even in certain family functions. I mean come on I don’t necessarily look like the girl next door! Being a Muslim Afghan-American woman, made me wonder how I could maintain my rich culture and faith, but at the same time not feel like an outsider within the society in which I live in.

When thinking about this, I started wondering why I felt this sense of not belonging and why these thoughts were occurring to me. I wondered if I was having some kind of mid 20’s crisis (yes, I know what you’re thinking, Sahar, there is no such thing as a “mid 20’s crisis”) so I looked to find ways for an answer to this newfound “crisis.” I started with looking through quotes, reading books and analyzing things within myself until I came to the realization that a lot of it had to do with fear of failure. Fear of not living up to my full potential. Fear of not being understood. Fear of failing in general because maybe I felt that I wasn’t where I thought I should be at this point in my life.

Starting a blog for me was a way in which I could express myself and hopefully find people who were like-minded. I’ve always been interested in fashion and design in general, but there is also a part of me that loves connecting with different kinds of people and learning about different cultures, traveling and having amazing experiences and although we are all different, there is something beautiful in which we can offer each other. You don’t look like me and I don’t look like you and that’s okay. I came across this quote and it made me realize that we can’t let the “picture in our head of how things should look like” hold us back. Life is about the journey and not just the destination and being able to learn from those experiences is what makes us beautiful. True style doesn’t only have to do with how you look or how you dress, but it has to do with knowing you’re not perfect and learning to accept yourself, flaws and all.

Boat Thailand

“You must be willing to change. You must be willing to break the deal you made with the devils within. You must be willing to leave the past and not be tempted to rebound when times are tough. You must be willing to let go of everything and anyone that takes you back to your sins. You must be willing to have hope. You must be willing to have hope that you can change and that you will and that you will be better. You must believe you are worthy of change and you are worthy of improvement and you are worthy of being the best. You must be willing to set aside your negative notions about life, about hardships, about people, about things, about yourself. You must be willing to stop feeling sorry for yourself while looking at the world move around you. Get up and make something of yourself.”

— Imam Ibn Qayyim Al-Jawziyyah

Leave a Reply

